Clean Eats: Let’s talk about breakfast

Ugh. When I had to take eggs, dairy, gluten AND sugar out of my diet, breakfast quickly became the hardest meal for me to accommodate. But now I think of breakfast as simply an opportunity for a variety of fuel.

I start with something for protein. Oftentimes, this is just a half a chicken breast baked and sliced. But lately I am loving these chicken sausages from Whole Foods. I shape each tube into 7 individual sausages, making 14 for the week on my stovetop (cook to 165 degrees internal temp). I stick them in a Tupperware and grab 2 for breakfast each morning.

I add something snackish for bulk, like roasted pumpkin seeds or lightly salted nuts.

And I usually try to get some solid nutrients in the form of veggie juice or a smoothie. I was having some blood sugar spikes and dips on vegetable juice, so lately I’ve been opting for this combo for a delicious smoothie:

  • 1 scoop Raw Fit protein powder
  • 1 .5 cups unsweetened almond milk (I usually like Pacific brand, which is organic)
  • 1 tablespoon peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup scoop of frozen organic berries

I’ll admit, this way of eating is a little formulaic and dull. But these days food is fuel, and I feel very good on this combo of clean eats. What do YOU eat for breakfast?? Share in the comments.

Happy eating!

4 thoughts on “Clean Eats: Let’s talk about breakfast

  1. Vegetable Tofu Scramble with Soy Chorizo (Trader Joe’s is 100% GMO free)
    Extra Firm organic Tofu 15 0z., 2 Tsp olive oil, 1 Tbls diced onion(or more), 1 whole bell pepper diced, 1 medium carrot diced, 1/2 Tsp garlic powder, 1/2 Tsp turmeric & black pepper to taste(turmeric & pepper heated together stop joint pain). Options: hot sauce, sliced jalapenos cooked w/veggies.
    Wrap tofu in 6 paper towels(place something heavy on top) in fridge for at least 15 minutes. Heat oil in large skillet over med-low heat, add veggies until tender about 5-7 minutes. Crumble tofu into skillet of veggies, add spices stir until yellow. Cook Soy Chorizo in a smaller skillet on med-low heat. This makes 4-6 serving, store leftovers in fridge.

    Like

  2. I go the oats route. Quick cooking steel cut oats in the microwave and then I add cinnamon, walnuts, unsweetened coconut flakes, mixed berries (or other fruit like bananas or dried fruit), and unsweetened almond milk. I never tire of it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

