Treatment recap: Surprise ending to month 5

Well, after 2 glorious months of feeling so much more like myself, it seems I’ve hit a bit of bumpy stretch in the road. 

I’m struggling. I’ve had a consistent and increasing onslaught of symptoms that I haven’t experienced in a while. The ringing in my ears is way louder, I’m having trouble staying asleep, when I do sleep I’m having nightmares and night terrors, I have heart palpitations and incredibly knotty, painful muscles. Even my vision is blurrier. 

But the good news is, I’m still doing okay on energy and mentally I feel very much like myself still. So… this is totally livable for now. I just don’t like the trajectory.  

This is the first really noticeable setback I’ve had since having made so much progress, and I’ll admit, I’m not sure how worried to be. BUT I know treating Lyme and coinfections is a marathon not a race. And I suspect there are a lot of ups and downs on that long road. Maybe this is just a bad week and there’s nothing to be done but wait it out. Maybe I’m not responding as well to the current combination of meds and I need to make a change. In any case, I know I’m still headed for wellness. I’m checking in with my Lyme doctor on Friday and I am absolutely sure she’ll have some ideas for me. 

In the meantime, I’m going to take it easy, get to get as much rest as I can, reduce stress whenever possible and think positively. I still have so so much to be grateful for. 

  

3 thoughts on “Treatment recap: Surprise ending to month 5

  1. Hi Karla,

    Try Kavinace PM for sleep. It’s the first naturopathic supplement that seems to work for us after trialing many others.

    Seems like it’s time to change your protocol…maybe something more neuro??? Just what that is I don’t know.

    I’ve got to ask, is Susan Marra your doc?

    All the best,
    Megan

    Like

    • Ah yes! I actually have that sleep supplement. Thanks Megan. We’ll see what my doc says about a change in protocol. I wouldn’t be surprised if I’m due. I’d be happy to email you my doc info if you give me your address! I try to keep names off the net as much as I can. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

