Pre-Treatment Jitters

I’m just about ready. I’ve collected all the medications, probiotics, nutritional supplements and detox aids I need to begin treatment. Before I start, I need to get some blood work and a visual fields test so that we have “pre-treatment” baselines to monitor any bad effects from the drugs. I also need to finish up an unrelated course of antibiotics I was on for a suspected sinus infection. I hope to have that all wrapped up this week. I’m almost ready to do this.

meds

Here’s Bentley helping me sort just the probiotics and detox bath supplies. During this first month, I expect to be taking pills 5x per day, which is actually less than I expected. We’re starting slow. But we’re packing a punch. I’ll be taking:

  • 1 very strong antibiotic
  • Cat’s Claw
  • 2 cyst busters
  • 1 anti-fungal
  • 3 types of probiotics
  • 2 immune supportive supplements (vitamin D and omegas)
  • 2 anti-inflammatory supplements

And, of course, all the regular human and symptom management medications I was on before, including importantly my thyroid medication and (for now) my multiple sclerosis medications. Whew! Long list. And this is just the start.

I’ll admit, I’m very nervous about starting treatment. Namely, about herx reactions, which if you trust YouTube videos can be really really scary. (Seriously, why did I look that up?!) BUT thanks to 2 very awesome friends who contributed to my funding, I was able to recoup enough of my out of pocket costs to purchase some detoxing help in the form of burbur detox drops, Alka-Seltzer Gold and Quercitin tablets that will help me over the hump of any herxing. Huge thanks to Lori and Leslie for their support, I wouldn’t have been able to do that without you. I feel more confident popping these first sets of pills knowing I have everything I need to cope right here on hand.

Overall, I’m keeping a positive and optimistic attitude about this. I’ve decided I’m the perfect candidate for Lyme disease recovery. Killing these bugs requires, above all else, diligence. Managing a rigorous pill schedule, an exceptionally clean diet of foods that are alkaline, non inflammatory and low glycemic, and detoxing every day makes for an intimidating “to do” list. But if there was ever anyone cut out for a process-oriented battle, it’s ME.

Onward.

3 thoughts on “Pre-Treatment Jitters

  1. Yes, I was scared to start treatment, too. You will have die-off. Most people experience herxing, though not as scary as they show on YouTube. Yes, SOME people experience that, but I have found that those are the people that have severe cases.

    One of the biggest pieces of advice I can offer is to keep a positive attitude, and believe that all of this is temporary. Every good thing you do for yourself is a step closer to remission. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks!!! I’m digging the words of encouragement for sure. I had a couple good days over the weekend but today I feel like garbage so that’s my motivation. I’d say I’m just as excited as I am nervous. Balance in all things, eh?? 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

